2 Ingredient Dinner

I am always amazed at how easy it is to fall into a rut of not cooking at home and eating out because life tends to get in the way.  I do it myself (sometimes more than I would like to admit), which is why I have really gotten interested in using my crockpot.  There is nothing better than coming home from work and having dinner ready to go.  Plus what is easier than putting everything into one pot?  How about if all you had to use was 2 ingredients?  Yes, you read that right.  I made dinner tonight with 2 ingredients and it was awesome.  This isn’t a new recipe for me, in fact it has become a staple around my house and with my family, but I couldn’t resist sharing how easy it is.

First things first next time you are out grocery shopping find this marinade and immediately put it into your cart.  I usually find it in the Hispanic section, but yesterday at Harris Teeter it was with all the other condiments.  Step 2 find yourself a nice boston butt roast.  You can use boneless (which I usually do) or bone in depending on what you can find.  I have also made this using boneless pork loin chops, but the boston butt is better in my opinion.

If the roast I got has a lot of fat I usually trim some of it off before putting it in my crockpot.  Pour in half a bottle of the marinade and cook on low for about 8 hours.  By the time the pork is done cooking it will be so tender is literally just falls about.  I serve the pork with brown rice and a vegetable to round out the meal.

PS: Leftovers are even better because the pork soaks up all the extra flavor from sitting in the marinade.

When dinner involves minimal time and ingredients there is no excuse not to eat at home.

2 thoughts on “2 Ingredient Dinner

  1. Mmm, sounds tasty. I don’t think I can get that marinade here, though. :( Another alternative, though, is putting in any meat and throwing in a bottle of beer. By the time it is done cooking the alcohol content will have evaporated but the flavor will be there, along with some very tender roast.

Leave a Reply

