Shepard’s Pie

I originally got the idea for this dinner from the Skinnytaste Website (Sheperd’s Pie, Lightened Up) and I adapted it based on what I had on hand and my preferences.  Chase and I went to a great Irish Pub, MacDuffs, in Lake Tahoe while we were on vacation.  Chase got the Shepard’s Pie and raved about how good it was!  I decided I would make some when we got home and see if I could live up to his expectations.  I used ground beef instead of ground lamb, which is what is typically used in the traditional Irish dish.

Shepard’s Pie (adapted from SkinnyTaste)

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1/2 large package of frozen mixed vegetables
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 4 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 c fat free beef broth
  • 3 tbsp ketchup
  • 1-2 packages instant mashed potatoes
  • salt/pepper to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Brown ground beef, drain, and remove from pan
  3. Using the same pan, sauté garlic until browned
  4. Add beef broth, Worcestershire sauce, ketchup and whisk in the flour
  5. Bring to a simmer then add the vegetables and ground beef
  6. Stir well and continue to simmer until the sauce has thickened
  7. While the sauce is thickening, I made the mashed potatoes in the microwave
  8. Pour the veggie and beef mixture into a baking dish and top with the prepared mashed potatoes
  9. Bake in the oven 20-25 minutes until the potatoes have browned
  10. Let sit for about 10 minutes before service

This made enough for a large baking dish and the leftovers were wonderful!  This isn’t exactly the healthiest or cleanest meal I could have made, but it was so good.  Next time I make this I plan to experiment to make it a little healthier without losing the delicious flavor.  Perhaps a sweet potato topping?!?

One thought on “Shepard’s Pie

Leave a Reply

