Looking Back

It had been quite awhile since I posted last week so I decided to look through my blog Thursday evening to refresh myself on what I had posted and boy was some of it eye-opening!  Remember those “life changes” I was striving to make and how proud I was of myself when I started?  Well, I think it is time to re-visit those.  My original post listed the life changes I hoped to adopt to make myself a better person and then I broke them down to be a little more manageable here.  With everything that has been going on in my life I pretty much fell off the wagon with all of these and now it is time to hop back on!!

Life Change 1: Wear my FitBit Flex Daily (goal of 10,000 steps daily):

Time to dust this off and charge it up! I plan to charge it today and wear it to work tomorrow.  I haven’t worn my fitbit since starting at Target so I am interested to see how active I am there.

Life Change 2: Track Using MyFitnessPal Daily:

While I definitely think it is a good thing that I have been cooking a lot more lately, it is harder for me to track (mainly because it takes a few more seconds to do—which is NOT a good excuse).  I definitely find it encouraging to have a visual representation of my day so I just need to do it.  Pre-planning will also help make this easier.  So far today I have tracked my breakfast :)

Life Change 3: Eat More Whole Foods/Eat Less Processed Foods:

For me, this is a constant struggle and I am sure it always will be.  I try to make good choices when it just involves me, but when I am cooking at home for me and Chase I don’t always follow this rule.  Plus there is definitely a difference and “his and hers” snacks in our house.  I have recently been really looking at foods to check out ingredients and that is always eye opening.  I need to continue to focus on my individual meals and make changes at home when possible.

Life Change 4: Cook more/including meal prep to be prepared at work:

I talked about this last week in regards to my changing schedule at work.  I know I will have to make this a priority so that I do not slack off when I get off work at 7.  While planning is key it is also going to be important to prep ahead when I can!  I began working on a “new” Pinterest board  for some quick and easy dinners last Thursday to get my ideas flowing!  I also plan to use Sunday afternoon/evening to make my plan for next week!

Life Change 5: Live in the moment–enjoy every single day:

It is so easy to find yourself looking forward to something; whether it be a vacation, holiday, or just the weekend.  It is ok to look forward to exciting things, but don’t forget to enjoy your time in the present.  I think my life is pretty awesome right now and I plan to enjoy it all I can!  A good way to remember this is my daily gratitude post.

  • Thursday August 24, 2014: I was able to look at the first pictures I took with my new camera and I was pleasantly surprised!  I am loving my new camera so far!
  • Friday August 25, 2014: I was able to meet with my new staff pharmacist and I am excited for new changes.
  • Saturday August 26, 2014: Chase and I had a date night at one of our favorite Greek restaurants, Athenas.
  • Sunday August 27, 2014: I got two compliments on my watch at work, which let to two different, but great conversations with my guests at work.
  • Monday August 28, 2014: I had a super productive day at work and was able to take advantage of our last day of overlap to step out and grab lunch!

 

I plan to enjoy the nice weather this afternoon!  I can’t believe that it is 74 degrees at 11:15am in July!  Hopefully I can take some pictures and practice more.  You know what they say–practice makes perfect!!

Speaking of practice here are a few pictures I took yesterday evening.  I tried to focus more on exposure and was happy to see they looked much better when I viewed them on my laptop this morning.

Neighbors

Neighbors

from the porch

Focus on shirt and background is out of focus

Focus on shirt and background is out of focus

focus on background and shirt is out of focus

focus on background and shirt is out of focus

 

One thought on “Looking Back

  1. I like your pictures! You also captured some good shots with Dave’s camera at Koen’s b-day. I know what you mean about eating more whole foods instead of processed foods. I am trying to do that myself. I went to the Peach Stand today and they had the most beautiful okra there. So guess what I am having for my vege for dinner tonight? They would also be great to pickle also!!! Makes my mouth water thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

